Benefits Worth Talking About

Posted on February 8, 2011

0


A recent item in Employee Benefit News caught my eye for two reasons. First was the title – “Talk About Good Benefits.” With a title like that, I figured it would be an article about benefits communications – talking about benefits. Turns out I was wrong – the article discusses employers that provide unique perks, such as on-site auto service and wine bars (just make sure not to visit the wine bar before you pick up your car…)

In any case, while the perks described in the article sound great, it’s important to remember that having great benefits, while critical, isn’t everything – employees need to know about and appreciate those benefits for them to have the maximum effect.

And, of course, providing employees with comprehensive total compensation statements is a great way to inform, educate and motivate employees.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I’m going to read a bit more about that company with the wine bar . . .